Any body paddle a Sawyer Autumn Mist?

I have a line on an Autumn Mist, I have read the reviews here. Are you folks happy with the quality of the boat. The one i am looking at is in the golden glass layup. thanks for any info.

Goldenglass
Bryan,

I’ve no experience with the Autumn Mist. My dim memory suggests it might have been a Dave Yost design, and I think it has a good rep.

I did have a 79 Sawyer Cruiser in Goldenglass for 23 years and found it to be a very stiff and durable hull. The stiffness was better in fact than the few other high end composites I’ve paddled, but that is just one boat compared with a few others. We used it for hunting, fishing, camping and even subjected it to some use on Hill Country rivers. My relatives and friends tend to be utilitarian and so even though I tried to take good care of it, it recieved its share of accidental knocking around.

The gel coat was showing its age a little when I sold it this summer, but I wasn’t always able to keep it under cover and in Texas that is foolishness.

Good luck.

I have an Autumn Mist

– Last Updated: Feb-18-04 9:16 AM EST –

and am very happy with it. It is in the 55# range which pushes the edge of solo loading and unloading easily. There is no rocker which means good tracking and with the sliding seat trimmable for any wind condition. A bit squirrely in following seas when loaded with about 250# of paddler and gear but manageable. I equipped mine with toe straps on the foot brace which helps heel the boat for tight turns but it is still a bit of a chore to turn tightly. Used it on my last BWCAW trip and was able to stay with a 16' sea kayak using sit & swich with a bent shaft paddle. Use it mostly for flat water since I have another short rockered canoe for river use. Go for it I suspect you too will be happy in a Mist.

Thanks Mike,Osprey an PRR