Any concerns about paddle float assisted re-entries with wooden Greenland paddle?

I’m wondering if breaking is a concern. I would actually be trying this in a open-deck pack boat. If I were to secure the paddle to the gunwale, I would think there would be a lot of upward force on the loom (on the side I was re-entering from) as my weight tried to force the edge of the boat (and paddle) down into the water while buoyancy on the float at the end of the paddle would try to prevent that. I can see a risk of the paddle snapping in half, or cracking. But maybe they are stronger than I think.

I have no experience with open deck pack boats, so I don’t really have any idea of how much force would be applied to the paddle. The paddles I have made from commonly available GP plans would have no problem supporting a conventional paddle float re-entry in a sea kayak. Remember the the paddle float is just to give an assist, you keep your weight centered over the boat not relying on the float. I think with a green land paddle the bigger problem would be attaching the paddle float. I have not looked at mine for many years, but the kind I have would slide off of my greenland paddle blades that are only 3.25 to 3.5 inches wide.

Brian Schulz of Cape Falcon Kayaks has an excellent video on self rescue with a pack canoe. I think his rigging and technique are better than attempting to use a paddle float. In fact he mentions using a kayak paddle with or without a float but suggests that his method is quicker and less subject to complications, and I tend to agree. His hand built skin on frame canoes offer more lashing points than on conventional hardshell canoes, though, including the bungees he installs on the gunwales for attaching a paddle.

3 Likes