Any other Dagger Stratos 12.5L owners out there? How are you using your boat?

Hey there! I’m fairly new to kayaking, having in the past done an occasional recreational paddle down stretches of the Susquehanna River in Pennsylvania. After doing a couple recreational trips on NE Illinois rivers with my brother, who owns two cheap rec boats, I decided to take the plunge and buy my own boat.

Easier said than done. Eventually, a shop owner talked me into buying a new Dagger Stratos 12.5L. At first, I thought I’d made a big mistake, and should have waited to buy a rec kayak like the Pungo 12 whenever they become available again. But I’ve started to really enjoy the Stratos.

So I thought I’d reach out to other Stratos 12.5L owners and ask what kind of kayaking do you do with your boat? When do you and don’t you use the skeg? Any tips for a new kayaker on getting comfortable in this boat with secondary stability, paddling on edge, etc.?

Possibly helpful details: I’m an avid mountain biker and yoga enthusiast, so I’m in pretty good shape, 6’3" and 215 lbs. (could stand to lose about 10-15 pounds).

I just picked up a spray skirt and took the boat out with if for the first time this past Sunday, and also had my first capsize on a quarry lake, thankfully pretty close to shore.

Grateful for any advice, dos/don’ts, tips, etc.

Thanks!

– Eric

I have owned a Stratos 14.5L for a few years. Great, versatile boat. Definitely not a speed demon, but adequate considering the versatility. It spins on a dime with the skeg up, and is actually quite difficult to turn if you forget that it’s down. Generally, full skeg downwind or if you’re lazily touring in a straight line. No skeg upwind or if you’re maneuvering. Variable deployment between the two based on what the boat is or isn’t doing.

Step 1: Learn to capsize and re-enter the boat. Get very comfortable, confident and proficient with this.

Step 2: Learn to paddle efficiently.