Any reason I can't replace a kayak with a packraft...?

Hi! I am new to paddling and am looking into a multi-day down the Colorado in TX this Summer. I intend to do many more trips of this variety, ie. multi-day flat water paddles. Knowing very little about pack rafts, accept that they are often used in backpacking and trekking trips for water segments or crossings, and that they seem very convenient, is there any reason I shouldn’t buy one just for long-distance paddles?

Pack rafts are light weight & small. Their most intended uses are for paddling remote rivers where you have to backpack to get into the river, and trips where you will combine paddling with either hiking or mountain biking sections of the trip. They can carry a small amount of gear, such as what you would carry on a backpacking trip. They are small & short, so they are at their best on whitewater. They will work on flat water, but they are not optimal for long distance paddling.

If you are looking for the convenience of an inflatable, then there are other boats that will work much better than a pack raft. The Sea Eagle line of inflatables are nice for flat water, and I have several friends who paddle them & like them. I have a ton of friends who paddle AIRE / Tributary kayaks on flat water & whitewater. These IKs will hold plenty of gear for a multi-day trip, and will paddle fairly efficiently. They won’t be as fast as a hard shell kayak and they are more susceptible to wind, but they can handle a variety of paddling adventures on rivers. If you get into any lake or open water paddling, then you will want a hard shell kayak.

I am not experienced with canoes, so I’ll leave it to others to tell you about them.