Anyone put Air Bags in Feel Free Gemini?

Hi,

I am new to kayaking (again) and bought a Feel Free Gemini.Recent took it out and it filled with water, ouch. So I am buying scupper plugs and a few other things. I would like to know if anyone has put air bags into the Gemini, what their used and what their experience was. I am not looking to save money by using milk bottles, pop bottles, ....

Thanks,
CanuckOnWater

Look for tie points for the corners of
the bags. For example, the back corners of the front bag might be tied to the front end of the footbrace rail.

Why float bags?
Why is your SOT filling up with water? Is it just coming in from the scupper holes or from waves and not draining fast enough? Are the storage hatches filling up water?

Not really sure why you would add float bags to a SOT. If the kayak flips it will still float as long as the hull isn’t breached. You don’t really need to displace water the way a kayak or canoe does.

If the SOT is filling up with water from the scuppers then plugs could help out but you will have to drain wave hits and sprays by bailing or pumping. If lots of water is coming in from the scuppers then you may have way too much weight in the kayak.

Numerous Variations
Float bags come in various sizes and shapes

http://bit.ly/Floaty

A little ingenuity for tying them in and you’re set

Water came just flooding in … :frowning:

Hi,

Thanks for the fast responses.

The combined weight and lack of scupper plugs brought water just up over the scupper holes. Combine that with waves and somehow one of the covers got just pulled back a bit. After paddling under what seemed like more and more resistance, read more and more water inside, the kayak started to rock right and left. I heard gurgilling and looked down. The cover was almost half way off with water pouring in. I slammed the cover back on but 30 seconds later we tipped over. Thank goodness for life jackets. As I had started for shore we were only 10 to 15 metres from safety.