Anyone...suggestions

I’m in desperate need of some help here. I want to get a boat, and I’m trying to find one that fits different needs. I have some whitewater experience, although it’s been a while. I’m interested in learning to roll. My friends mostly paddle slow moving rivers and lakes, so I also want a boat that handles well in those areas. I should mention I’m 5’4" and about 125 lbs. Anyone have suggestions

Small all-purpose
Almost any kayak can run through Class II whitewater, but if you want to play in eddies and on waves you pretty much need a whitewater boat. Used ones are cheap – the only issue will be finding one that suits your weight. An old-school boat like a Dagger Blast might be fast enough to also serve as an acceptable flatwater boat if your friends aren’t too fast.

As for a rollable lake/river boat for a lightweight? I assume that with your experience that “stable” isn’t your first concern, so you want a low-volume narrow-beam boat with a cockpit secure enough to hold you inverted. If you search the archive here under “small paddler”(your weight qualifies), you’ll see that the subject comes up a lot with no single good answer. Most recreational kayaks are too big and too wide for a small person to roll. There are some nice small sea kayaks, but they’re probably overkill for what you want to do. Maybe a used WS Piccolo?

small, lightweight boat
Hi I’m about your size & have an impex mystic & just love it…you can get in kevlar for an even lighter load…you can check it out at impexkayak.com (It’s for touring, not ww)

Happy hunting!

Joanne

A Blast would be excellent, or
watch for a Dagger Piedra.

"Slow Rivers and Lakes…“