Are Canoe Stabilzers a Good Idea

I am new to canoeing, and just purchased a Wenonah Sandpiper solo canoe. I had a close call a couple of years ago when, being young and stupid, I foolishly tried to float a river in a flat bottom boat at near flood stage in the winter (lost all my gear but came through it in one piece). I now have a healthy respect for the power of rivers, and I am looking for some advice on how to do things safely.

I will be doing most of my paddling alone mainly on fairly slow creeks and medium sized rivers. I would like to do some duck hunting during the winter months. I plan on doing all my paddling from the kneeling position for stability. DO YOU THINK IT WOULD BE A COULD INVESTMENT TO PURCHASE A SET OF CANOE STABILIZER FLOATS FOR SAFETY, OR DO THOSE THINGS CAUSE AS MANY SAFETY PROBLEMS AS THEY SOLVE?

Thanks for any guidance you can provide a novice paddler.

I’d Hesitate to Hunt From That Boat…
…UNLESS it had stabilizers. Over 10 years ago I made some stabilizers and tried them in several configurations and they got in the way and made it difficult to portage, they were a PIA. I’ve heard good things about Spring Creek Stabilizers, and the foam sponsons that attach that you can get through Cabela’s. I think your best bet is to get a canoe more suitable for hunting and fishing from. If you are only going solo, a 14 foot boat would be better, but if you are going to tandem 14’ is pushing it. A few you might consider are the Wenonah Fisherman, Old Town Osprey, Mad River Winooski (they’re no longer made, but if you can find one they’re a dandy sporting boat), or Great Canadian Adirondack Sportsman. If you do choose to hunt from the sandpiper, you need to look at some stabilizers, but IMHO, I’d use a different boat, because that’s just not the best boat for that particular job. Good luck! WW

stabilizers = sponsons.