Are Fishing Kayaks good for non-fishing?

I am brand new to the world of kayaking and am looking to buy my first kayak. My only concern is that I want to be able to do multiple things with my kayak. I love fishing and want to fish from my kayak, but that isn’t going to be all that I do. I live on the coast with access to tidal rivers, marsh and wetlands, multiple large and small rivers, the ocean, and several freshwater rivers and lakes. I want access to most if not all of these different environments with the boat I purchase. Should I buy a fishing kayak and use it for both fishing and recreation, or should I buy a recreational kayak and rig it for fishing too? I have a budget of about $400, and Dick’s is currently having a sale on kayaks, so any advice or recommendations would e greatly appreciated!

First thing
Dick’s kayaks go on sale every 6 weeks so relax a bit.

A fishing kayak can be paddled without fishing but they tend to be based on being stable, which means wide, which means slower than skinnier kayaks. You can explore by yourself but if you were trying to keep up with a group in non- fishing kayaks you would fall well behind.

Save up some more money while watching
the classified ads for a good used kayak. For fishing, you want stability so when you make sudden moves, you DON’T tip over, besides the space to put gear. But to get stability, you have to have width when you are using a short kayak, and these $400 “rec” boats will be not so fun to go any distance in.