Are these kayaks any good?

I am new to kayaking and I want to get something with a high capacity and low price. I found these at a local Dunhum’s.

-Sun Dolphin Aruba 12 SS

-Sun Dolphin Excursion 12

Are they any good? I will mainly be doing recreational slow river and small lake kayaking. Some fishing.

No
They are basically a pool toy. Save your money and get a real boat.

What do you mean by high capacity?
Agree with the first response about the value of those boats. But it might help if you explained what that meant.

That’s definitely…
…the low rent district of kayaking. Consider a sit-on-top while you’re at it. Seems that these would be better suited for fishing. And there are a bunch of good ones out there. In the Sun Dolphin line that would be the Bali 12s.

And while you’re at it, check out Ocean Kayaks too. Seems they make some nice SOTs.

Whatever you end up with, make sure there is floatation in the front and rear (not a problem with a SOT) and look for perimeter lines too. Eventually you will tip over and having perimeter lines to grab is great.

Oh, and you might want to spend a little more or look for something better that’s been used and can be had for a sweet price.

Not true
Just because a boat is a sot, does not mean that it is exempt from needing flotation. This is because there is no guarantee that the sot won’t leak, or take on water through a hatch, or other opening.

some reading
You might want to do some reading. Calio0frnia Kayaker Magazine had a pair of articles that may be of interest. Issue #6 had an article on buying a recreational kayak. Issue #10 had an article on basic types of kayaks (explaining different between SOT and Rec and SINK).

Both can be read online for free at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html

well sure…
…any kayak can take on water via hatches, bulkheads, holes but the SOTs that I’ve seen are all built with a sealed air-filled body. That appears to be the case with the SOT Sun Dolphin that I referred to.