Astonishing elevation gain

I use the app “Map My Ride” to keep track of my cycling. I also decided to use it when I went paddling today. It was flat-water paddling. The app tracks distance and also the amount you climb up hills. Map My Ride calculated that on my flat-water adventure, I had an elevation gain of 129 feet! (This is not the Bay of Fundy!)

Is there a better app for paddling adventures, showing on a map where you went, how far and how fast you went?

I was told Strava has a paddling pull-down by a cyclist who has never used it. I have no personal experience with it, so I can’t speak to how good it is.

Additionally, those apps elevation measurements are not as accurate as speed and distance, so it may still be useful for speed and distance.

A friend uses Strava to track our trips. Does a good job.

I have a Garmin watch (Fenix 5) that I use for all me activities. I have found that it is the most accurate

gps is not that accurate for elevations. This is due to angle of satellite/s that are tracking you to the Earth’s surface.

Was discussed here nor long ago try a search.

1 Like

The elevation feature of map my ride and other apps is bad, but it’s not of much concern in paddling on flat water. I checked out Strava and it does indeed have options for canoeing and kayaking. I’m going to give it a try.

I’ve used Runtastic/Adidas Running for years, and also occasionally use Strava. Both will show phantom gains and losses in elevation while I am paddling. I just ignore it - if I was running or biking in a hilly area I’d be more concerned about the accuracy.

I have a Suunto watch that I use for paddling. It uploads the paddle data to the Suunto app which then syncs the data into Strava. I also use it for cycling as well. My cycling club uses Mapmyride for posting route info which I upload into my Wahoo to display turn by turn and sprint sections during the ride. Afterwards it syncs data with Strava.