Avoiding separation from kayak

I’m completely new to kayaking and will be taking a course in a few weeks. I have all of the safety equipment, as well as kayak (15’ Wilderness Systems Cape Horn).

One question I have is in regards to avoiding separation from the kayak in the event of a capsize and wet exit. Do you hold on to the paddle, which keeps you attached to the kayak by the paddle leash (is it strong enough for that?), or do you tether yourself to the kayak with a length of rope between it and your PFD? My concern with that would be entanglement and getting stuck underwater.

So, what is the proper, safe way to avoid separation from the kayak?

Thanks.

Your Concerns Regarding

– Last Updated: Aug-03-10 8:20 PM EST –

being entangaled by lines attached to your boat are spot on.

Many paddlers, including flat water paddlers like myself, have an extremely sharp rescue knife attached to their PFD's to prevent potential entanglement.

Don't know your boat, and many kayaks have perimeter rescue lines to hold onto after a wet exit.

IMO carrying a spare paddle, attached to the boat, is a good thing.

Suggest you get some professional instruction: ACA or BCU are two routes that many paddlers take.

Mike

Hold onto paddle and boat
This is a good thing to be concerned about. Losing your paddle and/or your boat can be very, very bad, particularly in wind.

One of the most important reasons to practice wet exits is to train yourself to hold onto your paddle and your boat NO MATTER WHAT. The reason for a spare paddle on the deck of your boat is in case you lose your paddle. When you wet exit, grab your boat even before you come to the surface.

Leashes can get tangled around you, so I recommend against them in most instances. An exception is a boat leash for surf skis.

Never tie yourself to a boat
What you do depends on the situation. I have never seen a whitewater kayaker use a paddle leash. Ocean kayakers sometimes do.