Back into paddling, safety gear

New guy here. I have been paddling off and on since the mid-1970’s and while I tend to paddle by myself, I have not been very safety conscious, generally have been paddling offshore (S. Calif.) a mile or 2 off the beach and up/down the coast without safety anything and last time I rolled a kayak (on purpose or for fun) was 30 or so years ago, doubt I could do it now. Water is too cold here for me to consider a roll any fun and I don’t wear special gear, so never kept up the practice. Inflating floatation bags was too much work too. As I get older, I guess I am getting smarter and also worrying about not being able to swim to shore anymore. I see some people now going out in Kayaks with wet suits on and some are using dry suits. I paddle where the water is cold but the sun is F…ing hot, I would melt in a wet suit. I do wear a automatic inflatable safety harness leftover from my offshore days in a boat, but that has been all in the way of safety.

What are some options for me to be safer out there ?

I know one of the first is a paddling buddy, but I really enjoy the alone time and hate making plans, I want to go when I think about it, not next Wednesday at 10AM. And I know I need to practice my rolls and self-rescue, need to find someone with a heated pool first. A dry suit maybe ?

Really the biggest questions to answer are

1. what happens after I fall out of the boat (are you attached to it with a leash? can you re-board it? can you stay upright in the conditions that made you fall ut in the first place?)
  2. how long can I survive in the water, and how long until your fingers or limbs stop working (often long before actual death)
  3. how do I signal for help

I paddle out of oxnard area so am in your general area. I surfski (a long skinny SOT kayak) and paddle in everything from flat water to 9’ monsters and 25kt squalls. I almost exclusively paddle alone.