Bad back (SOT)

I am a novice in kayaking. I have been out a couple of times (Lake Tahoe & Spring Lake in Northern California) but those times were years ago. I went out a couple of weekends ago and did not get far before my back was screaming UNCLE.

I have a Malibu 2 SOT and am wondering if anyone else has a bad back and what you do to help stay comfortable. Thanks

“bad back”, in what way?
Kind of hard to address your question as stated. Do you actually have some injury or organic problem with your back? If so, of what nature? Or did you just find your back hurting on this particular outing? If the latter is the case it could just be the kayak design or your posture and paddling technique.

I don’t have any inherent back troubles but there are some boats that I can’t tolerate for more than an hour without gnawing back ache – actually it is the more “plush” looking high back seats (common on sit on tops) that encourage (or force) the paddler to semi-recline that give me the most discomfort. In my own sea kayaks with narrow back bands and leg positioning that allow me to sit upright and paddle with good torso rotation, I never have back pain even on very long days.

Try different models of kayaks before your give up on them. Also, good paddling instruction can help to mitigate position and overexertion stresses.

My Sympathies
I can not do kayak for over a few minutes before my legs and lower back start screaming. I physically can not do them, and I am unwilling to invest the time in physical therepy when I have few problems when I am in a canoe. I have found the higher seating and comfort of canoe works best for me.

willowleaf asks good questions.
If you do not normally have back issues,it is probably a matter of conditioning.I paddle canoes and SOT because they don’t cause problems for my absolute wreck of a back.

Many Variables