baja kayaking

I’m going to be spending quite a bit of time in the next few years kayaking in the Sea of Cortez. I’m new to the sport and would like help picking kayaks for the area. I’d like to buy a total of three kayaks. Two sit a tops, one solo and one tandem, and a touring kayak for trips. I’m 6’5" and about 210 so I don’t fit in all the kayaks. I’m leaning toward a plastic touring kayak because I’ll be pulling it up on beaches to camp and not all the beaches are nice soft sand. Any help, especially from people who have kayaked down there would be appreciated. Thank you

Why that particular plan?-and some boats
At your size for a touring kayak to take on camping expeditions I would look at the Prijon Kodiak, it’s an excellent plastic seakayak that can carry lots of gear and is a fast paddler. I’ve used one on trips on the open coast on the Pacific side of Baja.

For sit on tops check out the WS Tarpon or Ocean kayak Prowler 15 . If you can find them used the Ocean Kayak Scupper Pro or Heritage Seadart are great boats for the sea of Cortez.

If you are talking about Tandem sit on tops your choices are limited. One thing you want to keep in mind on the sea of Cortez is wind, lots of the fat slow tandems will perform poorly. The Cobra tandem may be OK, the Hobie Oddysey works pretty well in wind, this was my first boat and I liked it a lot. The Heritage tandem was the best tandem SOT for real paddling but it is not made any more. Be careful with the Ocean Kayak Zest II. It is a dog in the high winds in the afternoons on the sea of cortez, lots of hotels have them down there, and I learned by experience.

plastic?