Balancing wants with realistic needs - kayak shopping

Hello.

I’ve been browsing this forum for a while now but this is my first time posting. I’m looking for some general advice that might be able to help others in the future too, as well as any input anyone can offer for my specific situation.

TLDR: Newbie trying to understand and figure out if it’s worth saving and waiting to try to get a higher-end rec kayak or if a cheaper one would actually be noticeably different. With my current lifestyle, I can’t imagine ever getting to a point of using the kayak for more than a couple hours at a time on totally flat, calm, slow water. I waffle back and forth between the “buy the best kayak you can afford” and the “any kayak that gets you on the water is best” mentalities. Trying to figure out where the balance point is between them.

The weather is cooling down a lot where I live now and the season is probably close to over. There’s a chance we’ll get snow before the end of this month. I’m watching for a good deal on a used kayak this fall/winter or debating if I should save up and try to buy in the spring instead. But buying used means I can’t try before I buy, though even if I could I’m not sure I know enough to be able to tell the difference between a good and bad kayak.

I’ve rented a kayak a number times over the last decade and I always really enjoy it and I’m finally considering buying something of my own. (A friend bought a rec kayak this year, so I finally have someone I could go with. They bought a Pelican Escape 120 rec kayak, so not a high end one by any means.) I’m the type of person that likes to do tons of research and try to learn about all the different options when I’m shopping for something so I’ve been reading forums, reviews, manufacturer websites, etc. and I’m checking local listings of used kayaks pretty much daily in hopes of maybe finding a good deal. (There’s not a lot where I live, and I think this is an extra hard year to be looking.)