Basic Equipment

Hi all,

I am new to the sport of kayaking. My wife and I just purchased our first boats a few weeks ago – Carolina 13.5 & 14.5, along with paddles, pfds, and spray skirts. For right now, we are planning on using them just recreationally for about one to two hours at a time in the marsh behind our house and occasionally the Long Island sound. I have heard people commonly refer to paddle floats and a pump as part of their standard equipment. Is this equipment critical for the type of paddling we’re planning, or is it only needed for longer type trips?

Is there any other equipment we’re missing that is important?

Thanks,

Scott

Training, training, training.
If you have not already done so, please participate in at least some basic kayak safety training. At a bare minimum, if you are going to use a sprayskirt, you definitely need experience in the proper installation and release of the skirt, and wet exits with the skirt. Basic kayak safety training should demonstrate the proper use of PFDs, skirts, pumps, and paddle floats.

It’s not if…
but WHEN you capsize.

The water is over your head. You won’t be able to get back into the boat. If you do somehow manage, you won’t be able to get the water out of it, and you will capsize again due to the instability created by the water in your boat.

Even if lessons are impractical- read, read, read. Between the internet, books, and video, there is a lot to learn.

maybe take em
to a pool or the lake and try getting back in after intentionally dumping.(near shore) Find out what it takes before you have to.

If you are close enough…
to shore at all times so that if you tipped over you could swim your boat to shore than you don’t need a paddle float or pump.

But…on the other hand if you are way out in the water (too far to swim your boat into shore) you shoud have a paddle float and a bilge pump and you should know how to do a self rescue and assisted rescue.

Then you will see why you should have both items.