Bears and Food

What is your preference for protecting food from bears, chipmunks, squirrels, etc. when paddling in Quetico/Boundary Waters…Do you hang a bear bag or hide it away from camp?

Food
We always have a dog[Macky] with us, so we don’t worry about it to much. The dog has gone off a couple of times, and chased off whatever it was. I’ve been camping in the ADK’s for a couple of years and no problem yet.

hang, not hide
Ok, I don’t know the specifics of the Boundary Waters situation, but in bear country I normally hang the bags.

Hiding doesn’t sound like it would do much, besides keep the bears away from the tents. But with their sense of smell, they likely would find the food. And if hidden away from people, they are more likely to try to get at it (some animals will stay away from camp because of the smell of people).

Bear proof containers may be good, also, if you have space (more likely in a canoe than a touring kayak).

If no bears, but instead just small varmint, I would close the food inside the hatch of the touring kayak. Worked great in places like the islands off of the San Juans in WA, where there are hordes of mice.

I’ve Had Bears In Camp…

– Last Updated: Feb-27-07 12:21 PM EST –

...a number of times since my wife seems to be a "Bear magnet." In thirty something BWCAW trips since '84 I've never lost food to a bear while hanging my food. The key, is to NOT hang it where everyone else does, look for someplace less obvious. And be sure to use a two-rope system to pull the pack at least 6' away from the tree. BTW, I also have food double-bagged and in a Rubber-made box inside my #4 Duluth pack. Those Bear-cannisters look like a pretty good investment, though. WW

barrels
i canoe in many places where there are no trees or trees that are not suitable for hanging food. i use 60 and 30 litre barrels and this obviates the need to hang anything.

I’ve never camped in bear country
not yet, anyway, so I’ll be reading posts here with interest.