Beginer Paddlers

My wife and I are very interested in taking up canoeing or kayaking as a hobby. The problem is, we have very limited experience in canoeing, and no kayaking experience. We would mostly be paddling lakes and slow rivers. We’re not really sure what would be the best option for us, canoe or kayaks. Most of our paddling to start would be just day trips coupled with fishing. I would appreciate any advice on what to look for in watercraft and the accessories to go with them. Also, I’m a pretty big guy (6’2", 270 lbs), I’ve noticed there are limited options for someone my size, or am I not looking in the right places. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

one boat each or
one boat for the two of you? Which were you thinking?

beginning kayaking for two
What did you have in mind? There are tandem kayaks for two people, but keep in mind that they are longer and heavier. I am just getting into this myself and have researched different models and makes of kayaks. The smallest tandem that I could find (hard shell) was a bit over 12’ long - and weighed over 50 pounds. There was no way that I was going to get that up on a roof rack - which brings up another concern. How will you transport the kayak? Then, there are sit-on-tops and sit-insides. A solo kayak for one person runs about 9’ long and weighs only around 30-40 pounds. My problem was that I wanted something that would be suitable for 2 people but also good for one person, and so I decided on a good quality inflatable kayak that has removable seats to hold either one or two people. Also, I have a vehicle with a pretty high roof and I realized that I’d never be able to load it myself up on a rack. Lots of things to think about. I’m still learning as I go! Best of luck. The main thing is to decide if you want to kayak solo or tandem at this point.

Best,

Keith

Canoe’s A Good Start