Beginner Advice

I’m new to paddling this year. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it so far. I started on flatwater lakes in the area, and have moved up to slow moving rivers with just some minor riffles and ledges. My next camping trip is going to be at the Chesapeake Bay and I can’t fathom going near water without my kayak along. Any advice for a newbie when trying new types of water? I plan to stay pretty close to shore, but I would expect the tidal water will be a bit of a different paddle then I am used to. Thanks in advance.

New paddling places
That’s the magic. New places and different kinds of paddling experiences. Talk to local paddlers,they are usually a friendly lot and will be glad to give you all kinds of advice. Ask locals about tides and currents . Most marinas as well as kayak and canoe outfitters will have tide tables which are usually free. Good luck. Vaughn Fulton

Pay attention to the tides
Plan accordingly. I planned my first ever saltwater paddling trip based on MY schedule rather than Mama’s (that’d be Mother Nature). It was just an afternoon paddle in and around Chincoteague, but I figured the timing all wrong and wound up fighting tide both ways. If I had paid attention and gone the opposite directions, I’d have exerted less effort, been safer, seen more, and generally had a better time going WITH the tide instead of fighting it.

I don’t think the tide on most of the Chesapeake is as strong as in the barrier island channels, but I guess if you’re in one of the areas with strong tidal currents it doesn’t much matter what the rest of the Bay is like does it?

Have fun, be safe.

• Big D

For most of the Bay - wind