Beginner Needs Help

I am a beginner with a very limited budget looking to buy a used kayak. I would like to use this kayak on lakes and rivers mostly. I like adventure so calm whitewater would be fun once I’m more confident. I’m small framed, but I’d like my husband to be able to use this one eventually so I can get a new one around Christmas and he is 6’5" and 225 pounds.

I have found an Old Town Otter that has never been used for a great price. What do you know about these? I have also found a Dimension kayak that is around 9 and 1/2 feet long and is a great price. I know I’m looking for a sit-in. I had read earlier that Pelican isn’t a great brand. Any other suggestions or advice?

Thanks for any help or advice.

Buy Used
And look for something in the 13 foot range or longer.

Not many short boats handle 225lbs very well.

jim

If both of you

– Last Updated: Jul-14-09 12:31 PM EST –

Can use the same boat, ideally you should be of similar proportions or the boat should be outfittable to match both of you. You will not find that in most 10 footers and it probably does not matter there. Still, a "small framed" female person would rarely trully enjoy the same boat a larger male would and vise versa. Get different "yours" and "his" kayak would probably be better in the long term...

As the other poster said, check the 13-15 foot range for a "serious" kayak on the cheap. Though the 10 footers work just fine for casual use if you understand the risks/drawbacks/benefits of using one: e.g. slow, flotation usually does *not* come standard, large cockpits flood easy, poor tracking, inefficient paddling position, but easy entry/exit, easy turning, light, easy to store, etc.

Nothing wrong with a 10 footer for light use but the longer boats let you do more...

Otter
The Otter is fine for what it is. You just need to understand the limitations it shares with other, similar recreational kayaks.