beginner needs help!!!

Hey I am wanting to break into kayaking, and I had some questions on a couple of things. First off, I am 6’4" and right at 300 lbs. What length kayak should I get support my weight ? I like the 10 footers but when I look at the specs, I surpass the weight limits. So any advice would be helpful. Second, what is a good kayak to get? I am planning on mostly flat water lakes and the brazos river for now. I would like to stay in the 200 to 300 dollar range considering I’m new to this. All and any advice would be appreciated.

Look
For a used boat in the 12-14’ range you may have to spring for a little more cash than your willing to pay. With 9-10’ boat you could be fish food in short order!

Have you been canoeing on the Brazos?
Personally, I would prefer a canoe, although I’m 2/3 your weight. A properly selected canoe will ride higher on the water and deal better with shallows. With some canoes, you can use a double bladed paddle when you want to. Getting in and out of a canoe is usually easier. You can carry much more gear, and it’s easier to access.

Go to demos

– Last Updated: Apr-27-12 1:02 PM EST –

Your budget is simply too low right now. Can you find demos around you to try out boats and figure out why I said that?

Added later - people don't realize how important a decent paddle is, let alone PFD and clothing. That is why I said the above about your budget - needs to account for all of that stuff.

Bigger
At your height and weight forget 10 footer. You would sink most. At your budget you have to look for a used boat. Try craigs list. My guess would be at least a 13 footer or bigger because of your size.You can use this to search craigs list around you. And like someone else already said try renting/demoing a kayak if theres a place around you.

http://www.searchtempest.com/

Look for Used SOT on Craigslist