Beginner Tandem Woes

If I buy a kayak I would call it Divorce Maker. I have only paddled 10 times- half on a one person and the other times tandem with my dh. I am not positive, but I think our strokes might be canceling each other out or something! Today we were out on a peaceful pond but we kept going in circles along the way and having to work very hard to get out of the loop. I have never had that problem when paddling alone, so I am wondering if it was the wind, our rental kayak, or our paddling! My dh prefers to sit in the back, and I know for sure that he is hardly ever paddling in time with me. I try to sync with him, but my neck gets sore turning around. We clack paddles a lot. I am a beginner and don't know what I'm talking about, but it seems to me that the person in back would have an easier time following strokes than the person in front. Any tandem advice or experiences would be much appreciated.

Your right as usual

– Last Updated: Aug-18-07 1:31 PM EST –

The person in the back should sync strokes with the front and is responsible for steering.. The front should keep a steady cadence.

You're much better off having your own kayak.

When we go out in the canoe . . .
I use a double bladed kayak paddle and let the bow paddler relax. It’s much better than trying to get my wife or 10 yo son to learn to paddle. I don’t mind and I get a better work out.

My two kayaks are solos. I’m thinking of selling the canoe and getting a tandem kayak, but only to put my 5 yo son in the front and my wife and older son in the solos. I’m not in anyway interested in tandem paddling.

You and you’re husband are better off solo for the reasons you detailed, and that it’s more enjoyable to look to your side to converse than it is for the bow paddler to turn around. I would also think that in rougher water, if one were to go swimming, it would be nice to have one still in his/her boat. Just a thought.

you are right, solo might be better