Beginner: what type of kayak would you recommend?

Hi! Brand new kayaker here. I am considering buying a kayak after doing some very recreational paddles. Wondering what you would recommend for me based on the following:

• absolute beginner
  • Canadian paddler
  • would paddle in optimal conditions
  • mostly calm lake or river paddling
  • strictly recreational
  • day paddles
  • would love to find a kayak that works for me + 1 child, AND just me. Although I’ll be doing a lot of solo I need the option of being tandem.
  • I’m worried about weight and length for transport as I’ll be handling it myself

Any great options? Bonus for “found in Canada” brands.

ETA I’m 5’ 7” and 150lbs and sit in kind of freaks me out :confused:

This depends on the size of the child. You could do it with a tandem but that won’t be the greatest to solo. A solo sit on with a large cockpit would probably work but the kid will be getting constantly soaked from water dripping off your paddle. A medium to bigger sit in top would also work, and the kid may be able to sit further up, thus potentially staying dryer. When I was a kid I would sit in the back hatch of my dads sea/touring kayak on Lake Superior, and it worked fine when I was small. This being said, having a child sitting in a hatch or even a tandem cockpit poses an entrapment hazard. If you flip the kid might not be able to get out on their own, or get pushed inside of the hull.