Beginner

I am new to kayaking, (have gone about 10 times). I am looking at getting a boat of my own and was not sure what to get. I paddle down mellow rivers(class 1&2) and would use it on flat water as well. I would like it to accomodate a weekend over night trip (3 maybe 4 days). I can get a great deal through work (dicks sporting goods) on old town products. I was wondering what you suggest (length, ect…) if it was a old town boat, that would be more preferrable…

thanks for all of the help.

look forward to paddling with you soon!

Cayuga
can’t vouch for them personally but they’ve been out for awhile and have a good reputation.

Here is a link which features four different lengths.

http://www.paddleshack.com/news_cayuga130.html

The Cayuga family is wide and stable, has good safety features, useful storage. Seem beginner friendly. IMO where you plan to paddle you won’t require a rudder unless you like to fish or take pix, in which case slowing down and steering w. your feet is very useful. But learn boat control without the rudder so that you develop all your skills.

Downside is they are heavy and large cockpits can be a bear to right when they’re swamped. Would be cool if you could demo, say, a 146 and a 130 and see how they fell, right side up and upside down…

There are many Cayugas reviewed on paddling.net - click on Product Reviews, search by mfgr and model.

I agree that a kayak between 13 and 15 feet can be the most versatile. My most versatile kayak is a Hurricane Tampico 135S which, when skirted, will go in any kind of flatwater except the big lakes when they are active. It’s 23" wide with great thighbraces, two hatches, only 41 lbs and keeps a very straight course without skeg or ruddger, which is why I liked it, and still do.

Happy Hunting! Some folks who own Old Town Loons will probably stop by and post about them.

A problem w/ newer Cayugas…