Beginning Kayaker

Hi. I have recently fallen in love with kayaking and would like to have my own kayak for weekend trips. Problem is I’m a college student paying my way through school. Anyone have tips on a good beginner kayak and were I can find one that won’t kill my wallet?

Depends on the kind of water
you want to paddle. Also, your height, weight, and shoe size can be a factor. And are you talking day trips, or camping? Check out the Classifieds on the left, and your local craiglist for used boats.

Camping…
I would like to get into whitewater, but I don’t think I’m going to start out with that. And I’m 5’6" and weigh 115 lbs. Size 6 shoes! I’ve checked on craigslist but there hasn’t been many postings in my area.

I can get shot for this here, but check

– Last Updated: Feb-13-08 10:56 PM EST –

at a Dick's .
http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/family/index.jsp?categoryId=2291570&cp=2367826.2672651.2674153

lol…
…thank you for risking your life to help me out! What brands do recommend?

If you want to do whitewater go for it.
You can find a good used whitewater kayak and skirt for about $350.

. PFD and paddle will set you back about $100.

You will need either a wetsuit or drytop to stay warm in cool water.

Look at Riverrunners here for examples …

http://www.boatertalk.com/gear/gear.php

Craigslist is a good place to find used boats. A better place for info is Boatertalk.com. Also lots of used boats on Boatertalk.com The average age at this site is about 57, and most of the folks have no clue about paddling whitewater.

Check at your school
I don’t know where you are going to school, but many of the large universities have outdoor programs and canoe/kayak clubs. They are a great source of cheap boats (either inexpensive rentals or beaters) and equipment. They are also great places to meet other paddlers and folks to hook up with for trips and shuttles. Give them a look.

David

whitewater