Bell Eveningstar vs. Wenonah Spirit II

My wife and I have paddled a Mad River Explorer for several decades. We’re considering a lighter canoe,so we’re pondering Kevlar. We have paddled a Wenonah Spirit II with our two dogs (about 60 pounds apiece). We were a little unsettled by having less initial stability than we were used to. How would the Bell Eveningstar compare to the Spirit II for initial stability, suitability for five-day trips, and ability to handle Class II whitewater?

Primary stability of the Spirit II

– Last Updated: Apr-01-12 7:16 AM EST –

I really don't think you'll notice the Spirit II's primary stability after you've spent a couple of hours in one. My wife and I were complete newbies when we got and thought it was a great canoe.

If you kneel, a big bow paddler will find that station a little narrow for a good stance. Smaller paddlers probably not. Like most Wenonah's its compromises tend toward speed and efficency. This can also make the bow station a little wet in bigger waves and holes. Not sure what kind of class II you do. But at the upper end of class II I'd probably look to more of a Novacraft Prospector.

I'm not at all familiar with the Eveneningstar. But at 6" shorter and 2" wider than the Spirit II, it probably wouldn't be my own choice.

some experience here
I have paddled the explorer and the spirit 2 quite a bit with dogs. I have not padled the Evening Star. I argee with you on the Explorer and the Spirit. On paper the Evening Star should be more stable than the Explorer if the seats ar at a similar height. Maybe you can find one to test paddle. It is wide and full bodied. I would also suggest a Kevlar Explorer. Stability like the Royalex, a little speedier, and available on the used market for around 1500.

dog paddling