Bell Yellowstone Solo owners

I’d like to hear from those of you that own Bell Yellowstone solo canoes. How do you like your boat? Specifically, how often do you paddle it on windy open lakes? Does it cut the wind and track nice out there?

Maybe. Maybe not.
I’ve had my boat since Christmas. I’ve paddled it four times. Three of those times were calm. The last was quite windy. There were a few times that I was blown sideways, but for the most part, I was able to go where I wanted to go (using all the muscle I could muster.) I’m not experienced enough, and I’ve not paddled other boats recently enough to compare. I’m anxious as to what others have to say.

I love THAT canoe, though.

Wind
I have owned mine for 4 yrs. Over 500 miles on it . It is great on small winding rivers. In big water and wind it is a handful. I own 8 boats so I dont have to paddle it on lakes. You should try adding wieght to the bow in windy conditions. It helps keep the bow down and tracking straighter. But yes I too love the boat.

Not too bad…
It’s pretty easy to go into the wind if you hit-n-switch, especially if you are using a bent paddle. Downwind is more difficult and the boat will want to turn broadside to the wind. Best method I’ve found for keeping straight downwind is to use a straight paddle and add a corrective pry at the end of the stroke. Depending on how you are quartering the wind you may have to switch hands and pry on the other side.

My Magic is much better in the wind and faster, but not as much fun as the YS in most other conditions.

I have a royalex wildfire
aka yellowstone. I have used mine a lot. But now, I have other boats for the lakes. When this was my only solo it was okay, because I had nothing else to compare it to. Going downwind, it does get whipped around. Probably some weight and trim adjustments would have helped me in big water,(I usually paddled it empty). Tracking? I am a better paddler these days, but I am still not excited by its tracking ability.