Bent Shaft Canoe Paddle Stroke???

Hi,

Does paddling with a bent shaft paddle require any subtle differences in stroke than when paddling wiht a straight shaft?

I am pretty new to canoeing. I paddle solo and generally like to kneel and use a J stroke.

However, I recently got a bent shaft paddle to switch things up a bit and do some hit and switch paddling.

I use a 58 inch straight shaft and got a 54 inch bent. It just feels so short too me but in theory should be the correct size.

Does the stroke with the bent shaft go deeper in the water…does it extend farther back than with a straight shaft? Do you apply the power later in the stroke?

I have just recently gotten an Osprey Swift solo canoe. Granted it is not probably the ideal boat for fast hit and switch paddling but is certainly suitable for it as an all around boat I would think.

I don’t find that I can get many hits before switching and find that I do veer off course. I am using a pretty vertical stroke and staying close to the gunwale (even have shaft basically rubbing on the gunwale it is so close). I especially find the veering bad when sitting. I have found that when putting one knee down it is a bit better.

Any suggestions and tips would be appreicated. Thanks.

Matt

it depends

– Last Updated: Apr-25-09 10:11 AM EST –

on your way of paddling,
as I have learned watching other people paddle.
I do adapt a little when paddling a bent-shaft paddle (or vice versa...)
but in general my forward stroke is about the same with a straight as with a bent-shaft paddle.