Bent vs straight paddle: can't make up my mind

I’ve never used a bent shaft paddle before. In the two articles I’ve linked, their merits are discussed. The first one leans toward the bent shaft. The second one has opinions from both sides that seem well-reasoned. I’m not knowledgeable enough to tease out the arguments. In the end, does it just come down to “six of one, half a dozen of the other”?

Link 1:
https://paddling.com/learn/why-bent-paddles-are-best-for-cruising/

Link 2:
http://www.explore-mag.com/straight-shaft-vs-bent-you-be-the-judge

I’d suggest that you start with a straight. The more nuanced strokes all work best with a straight paddle, and the nature and details of many of your questions suggests to me that you’d do well to work on such nuances. Later, when you have better skills, you can make up your mind which you prefer, and, importantly, under what conditions.