Best Kayak for Flyfishing

I’m an experienced fisherman but I am relatively new to kayaking and a complete novice to flyfishing. I currently paddle a Pungo Angler which I love. What would you recommend as the ultimate yak to flyfish from. I generally paddle on smaller freshwater lakes with relatively low distance paddling required.

Try a short SOT
I’d go with something small and maneuverable if speed isn’t a big concern. I’m not terribly experienced, but I find it a lot easier to cast a fly from the shorter boats. A good choice might be a Tarpon 100. I have a 120, but I wanted a bit more speed and the flexibility to add a rudder. Otherwise I probably would have gotten the 100 which is easier to transport and to fish out of. Then again, if stability is a big concern, you might want to go with a scow like the Ride. There’s always a tradeoff. . . .

I’ve heard…
but don’t know from personal experience that the WS Ride and the Malibu eXtreme are stable enopugh to stand in.

Like you I’m a rookie long-rod caster and I’m finding it difficult to cast while seated. I’m getting better but it ain’t easy.

fly fishing
I flyfish out of a Scupper Pro. Throwing flies from a kayak is gonna mean shorter casts, no problem because you can get closer to the fish. Your Pungo should work fine as a fly fishing platform. Stability is what you want while casting flies. False casting and doing flips after you catch a big 'un demand it.

Pungo Angler
I found my Pungo is a wonderful platform to fly fish from. The key for me was to “clean up” my sloppy casting. 11 o’clock and 1 o’clock, without fail, and I rarely hit the water. Also, I found roll casting to be pretty simple from the Pungo. Best of luck!

What’s the best way to carry…
…a rigged fly rod on a kayak when it’s not being used? I’m concerned about low-hanging branches, stick-ups, etc.

OK
OK Drifter is a terrific kayak to fly fish from. You can also stand and cast from this kayak.

Put the