Best Kayak for Huge Dog ?

Hi fellow paddlers ~ ~ we’ve decided to get a Newfoundland puppy, the big huge black furry water rescue dog. A male, eventually 150 pounds.

What is the best kayak for paddling a huge dog on board?

We tried a canoe and were surprised at how unstable it felt. No way. Love kayaking!

Obviously we’ll need a huge cockpit. Maybe a tandem and take out the front seat? What about a sit-on-top? Was just looking at the new WS Tarpon.

Have never kayaked with a dog on board but see various pictures showing it is done. This dog will be enormous and will need room to stretch out. Also, he’ll be doing water training and swimming and will plop a lot of water into the boat when he hops in.

I’m fat so that weight capacity is a consideration. Was going to buy a Tsunami 145 but that was before we decided to add a furkid. May still buy that but 1st priority will be the DOG KAYAK.

Advice please~!

Not many choices
I used to work in the kayak industry and there are not a lot of choices available for you. There is one boat however that could work…

The Clipper SEA-1 (part canoe, part kayak, big payload):

http://www.clippercanoes.com/boat_specs.php?model_id=126

Hope this helps,

Dan

http://www.westcaostpaddler.com

BIG roomy dog-friendly kayak ?
That looks interesting but not nearly enough room for the dog.

Did see a WS hybrid, Commander, but it doesn’t look as roomy for a dog as say the WS Tarpon 130T which is a sit-on-top tandem, able to take front seat out.

http://www.wildernesssystems.com/product/index/products/recreational/recreational_tarpon/tarpon_130t_recreational/

Looks pretty big, but wonder if those ridges will be too uncomfortable for a dog? Max capacity 550 lbs: that would work.

Hoping somebody with huge dog paddling experience will give advice, thx!

Folbot Greenland 2 or Klepper, Wayland
or Long Haul Double

I suggest looking at Sit-On-Top triples.