Best online rolling resources?

Am looking to head to a lake in the coming weeks to learn to roll with a friend. Both of us are good paddlers but haven’t tried rolling yet. While we realize an instructor-lead course would probably be better, we wanted to try to learn ourselves before going through the expense of taking a course. So, I’m looking for good online learning resources for how to learn to roll sea kayaks. In doing searches here and via Google I’ve found a few good write-ups, including the following:

http://www.useakayak.org/roll_extended_paddle.html

http://www.useakayak.org/eskimo_paddle_recovery.html

http://www.performancevideo.com/Ebook/rolling.htm

Anywhere else I should check? Any tips? :slight_smile:

Thanks,

-tim

what lake
Tim what lake are you going to? I am also new at this and live in up state N.Y. and my join you.

Round Lake

Will probably be driving up to Round Lake, north of Clifton Park. What area are you in?

Rolling Resources…
Here’s a few for you:

http://www.qajaqusa.org/Movies/movies.html

http://www.ringwood.canoe.btinternet.co.uk/rolling.htm

http://www.seacanoe.org/hand.htm#Hand%20Rolling

Seems the entire URL didn’t paste correctly, but the third one above is accurate in entirety. Just copy and paste into your web browser.

Pick up a copy of Paul Dutky’s book “The Bombproof Roll and Beyond.”

For me the most difficult hurdle to overcome was learning to let your shoulders and head leave the water last.

Good luck!

Tom

Rolling Tips
Before I switched to a Greenland paddle, my biggest problem learing to roll was keeping the paddle blade at the surface. I kept diving the blade. This seems to be a common problem so I thought I would offer a few things to help with this:

1. Wear a divers mask while learning. It will let you watch the paddle blade better and it will keep water out of your nose.