Best Shop In the Bay Area?

I’m fairly new to kayaking (but love it so far), and live in the SF Bay Area. Figure that it’s a good idea to build a relationship with a great local shop for equipment, classes, tours, and general advice.

I’ve done a little research, and it seems like we’re a bit spoiled here in the Bay Area, with a bunch of allegedly strong shops to choose from:

Aquan Sports - San Carlos

California Canoe & Kayak - Oakland

Kayak Connection - Santa Cruz & Moss Landing

Monterey Kayak - Monterey & Moss Landing

Blue Waters - Inverness & Marshall (Tomales Bay)

Eskape - Santa Cruz (classes, tours & rentals only, I think)

Sea Trek - Sausalito (also classes/tours/rentals only, I think)

Outback Adventures - Fremont & Corte Madera

Sunrise Mountain Sports - Livermore

Golden Gate Kayaking - (classes only, I believe)

And of course, we also have about ten local REIs that sell kayaks … but I’ve been a bit underwhelmed with their in-store kayak selection and staff knowledge of the sport. Is it just me? =[

In any case – any Bay Area folks around here? What do you think of the shops listed above?

Not just for retail, but also for classes and tours too. And are there any utterly fantastic, full-service shops that I didn’t list?

Any and all information, direct experience, and blatant opinion welcomed. :slight_smile:

wo is closest

– Last Updated: Jul-20-11 11:46 AM EST –

Many of the shops listed are good. I would try the one who is convenient for you first. For the level you sound like you are at, any on the list should be fine.

Eskape is lessons only. Roger Schumann is the owner, and also one of the few instructor-trainers around (the folk who teach the other instructors). CCK also has a couple of instructor-trainers who they contract with for classes. I don't think any of the others do that level.

Sea Trek is rental and lessons only. (Edit - they do trips/tours also- should have mentioned that).