Best value in a paddle jacket?

Wondering what the best value is in a paddle jacket. My worst case enviornment is about 60° for both air and water temp (so-cal).

I’m a beginner and plan to use my wetsuit for paddle surfing but was wondering what to wear for occasional flat water paddling in area lakes, Big Bear, Mammoth, Yosemite lakes, etc. Thanks!

I love my Kokatat Gore-Tex semi-drytop
When I’m not quite in full drysuit conditions, I’ll wear a Farmer Jane wetsuit with my “semi-drytop” paddling jacket (and if the air temperature is cold, I may wear a fleece jacket underneath the paddling jacket). This “semi-drytop” means that there are latex wrist gaskets, but just adjustable neoprene closures at the waist and neck. I do wear my sprayskirt underneath the jacket, and this has worked very well for me.

It wasn’t exactly cheap, but I’ve been using it a lot for over eight years now, so I’d say it was a very good value.

Melissa

I live in SOCAL
and in the winter, my paddling wear is usually the following:

NRS Farmer John

Rashguard poly unless it’s really cold and then Hydroskin

Chota Mukluk lites.

Kokatat Paclite Goretex paddling jacket for the really cold days or if lots of rolling practice.

I’ll also wear an NRS Mystery hood if I’m planning on lots of rolling or if it’s raining.

Be sure to check out our local club’s website www.ckf.org

I second the PAClite
recommendation.

I think this Kokatat jacket in longsleeve might be a good bet.

http://kokatat.com/product_detail.asp?code=ppj

There is also a shortsleeve version if you feel that it would be more useful in your climate. I have a shortsleeve paclite knappster and I live in Michigan, I wore it for the final days in fall for surfing and it worked pretty well. It’s not water tight, but it is close enough. Very breathable. I also wore it on a day long paddle across the mackinac straits (touring not surfing) and was very comfortable.

Great info, thanks!
And thanks for the website waterdoc!