Better for stability- kayak or canoe

-- Last Updated: Sep-16-14 1:24 PM EST --

My daughter is expressing an interest in going paddling. She's 8 (but sized more like a 5 year old). Obviously I would never take my child out with just me since I am a true beginner. I'd like to take her on a small, group guided tour (for beginners).

My question is this- what is best for us, a kayak or a canoe? Some guided tours offer both. I need the most stable, least tippy vessel as she will really freak out and probably be plagued with a life long case of PTSD if it even feels like she will tip over. She is a strong swimmer but we are in gator country so she's fearful of what might be in the water. And we'd be in the one boat but I would likely be the sole paddler.

Thanks for your advice!

Rentals
The rental places rarely have anything other than big stable boats. Canoe or kayak is fine for getting her out on the water. If they have a tandem SOT, maybe give that a go.

Least tippy

– Last Updated: Sep-16-14 11:04 AM EST –

Well I went on a canoe a few years ago with a friend (a rental at a state park) and it felt extremely tippy.

Some places only have one... meaning only rent canoes or only rent kayaks. I'm trying to choose which would be best for her, so I know where to take her, is one or the other more stable? We are both small (I'm 110 lbs and she's 40 lbs). I'd really love for her to explore the world of paddling and maybe take lessons if she's interested. But if I take her on a boat that feels tippy I doubt she will ever set foot on the water again.

Does she fear the water?
Can she swim? She would be wearing a PFD, of course…

The suggestion of a tandem SOT is a good one. I paddled a friend’s SOT. Was extremely stable (but like paddling a barge compared to my own kayak). Easy to get on and get off, even while in the water.

Beginner and Child in One Boat

– Last Updated: Sep-16-14 11:41 AM EST –