Bigger heavier kayaker.

-- Last Updated: Jun-06-04 6:18 PM EST --

Went out to a kayak/canoe demo today. It was rainy and cool with a variable breeze from light to strong. I got nice and wet while kayaking, and I loved every moment of it! :)

So, I managed to first try a Current Designs Storm. I'm very new to the sport, so I felt slightly tippy at first. However it only took me about one or two mintues to become completely comfortable and feel totally stable. I can thank growing up around water for that. I think it helped knowing that if I tipped I wouldn't panic. I would have tried to roll (never have before but I think I've got the technique down in my head) and failing that do a wet exit. Never had to at all today though thankfully. Anyways I practiced my braces a bit and then I was off like a rocket. Kayaking is so fun! I never really had to use the rudder at all despite the breeze, which makes me proud as a beginner. Tracked well, turned alright I guess. At about 6'2" I was quite comfortable with my legs in the braces and feet on the peddles. I spent about a hour or so paddling and I think I could probably go all day with a bit more lumbar support and some exercise to get in shape. See, I'm also 268 lbs which is a bit of a problem. Yes, quite heavy but losing some weight is definitely an option I am willing to consider if that's what it takes to start kayaking (each pound lost is one more pound of gear I can take after all). But what did this mean kayaking in a CD Storm? No room for gear since I had almost no freeboard left.