Boat Carts

I’ve been researching carts for canoes and many of them seem very similar. I’ve had zero past experience using carts.

I would haul the cart in the canoe with a total weight to be carted of about 200lbs. Mud and sandbars should be the softest terrain, but no dunes or ocean beaches. Convenience of use is a big factor due to my immature emotional state.

I’d appreciate hearing which carts suck and why, and which ones have worked well for you.

I can’t help you on brand since…
mine is home built, but make sure you get one with at least fifteen inch wheels.

From experience on the portages in the ADK 90 miler, the little wheels are useless.

Cheers,

JackL

Two hundred pounds is a lot of
weight for a canoe cart. Also, I’d be worried about that much weight being inside the canoe (100 lbs plus) when it’s carted since you could possibly damage the canoe when bouncing it over rough terrain?

You’ll have to be careful on how much maximum weight is specified for the cart and add a safety margin especially if you intend to take it on rough trails. I had problems with my first cart breaking down on the Bowron canoe circuit. What a pain. On the Bowron they weigh the baggage you intend to take in the canoe and limit the weight to sixty pounds so you don’t damage the portage trails. My total weight would have been around 120 lbs. I returned the cart and got one that uses 18 inch bike tires and should be OK for the Bowron.

I’d suggest the wider tires if you intend to use it on the sand. My present cart with the skinny bike tires wouldn’t work too well on the beach. Skinny tires roll easier but will bog down in sand.

I seen some substantial canoe carts that would be OK for you; however, the beefy ones don’t usually fold up and are fairly large. On my first trip on the Bowron I rented a cart and didn’t have any trouble with it. I bought the cart when I thought I’d go solo and didn’t want such a rented monster in my canoe.