Body Weight vs. Maneuverability

How much does body weight effect tracking and maneuverability?

I recently purchased a Capella RM 166 and noticed while paddling with a friend that I had to work a little more at staying straight than he did. All the reports I’ve read stated that the Capella tracked well. It carves turns nicely and I was able to stay on course, it just seemed like I was trying harder.

I’m new to kayaking and I’m sure my skills could have something to do with it but I was wondering if the fact that I weigh only 150 lbs can have an effect on how my boat tracks as well?

I used to paddle a Capella
and I weigh only 141 pounds. I didn’t have any problem keeping the boat tracking. Especsially in the capella. Now, my paddling partner who used to paddle a Seaward Cosma, found that her weightdidn’t affect the cosma in a very positive way. She threw 20pounds of weight inside the boat and still had a hard time with it. The cosma was a higher volume boat than she was comfortable with. She now paddles the CD Slipstream and feels much more comfortable and confident.

Curse of the lightweight paddlers I guess…its okay, I’m with ya lol

jim.

Congrats on your Capella!!!

I Think At 150

– Last Updated: Apr-22-05 3:07 PM EST –

you're light for that boat, unless you plan to pack something in. It won't track the same for you alone as it would for someone heavier and/or carrying a load. Also, the "trim" could also be off to be affected by some weathercocking.

sing

PS. I am 140 and find the Capella to be voluminous.

Have you considered . .
practicing with a WW boat to dial-in your skill relative to paddling straight? (length of stroke vs paddle placement vs boat yaw) Once you’ve learned how to make a WW boat run on a straight line at speed, you will never again concern yourself with how sea kayaks track regardless of how they are loaded, skegs vs rudders or relative boat volume.

Cheers,

Jed

Depends…

– Last Updated: Apr-22-05 4:46 PM EST –