Boreal Design Inukshuk and Fjord

Hi, I was wondering if any experienced kayakers out there have tried out both of these models and could offer me a comparison of the two. I have an opportunity to buy one or the other, but I do not have the opportunity to test out both (one is 350 km west ( the fjord), the other is 800km se), not sure if it would matter as I am a newbie to kayaking ( not to paddling or tripping). I have read the specs on both, and the typical advertising. I have also corresponded with someone who is very impressed with Inukshuk. I am 5’8", 175 lbs. Storage isn’t an issue on either.

Any thoughts much appreciated,

QCC kayaks
have you looked at them? Free shipping and return shipping if you do not like it.

Light, fast, great all around kayak.

That’s no answer…

– Last Updated: Sep-13-06 1:39 AM EST –

re:qcc
Hi again, thanks for the suggestion. I did browse the qcc website, nice kayaks but out of my price range. I should have mentioned that the two boats I am looking at are rental sell off’s, both plastic, both '06 boats.

Rented an Inukshuk
last summer for a day. All I can remember was that it did not have a lot of primary stability. I did a lot of research and test paddles, and finally settled on a CD Sirocco. I had a RM Tempest 170 for a while but returned it because of poor quality.

Stay away from Boreal
I had a Boreal Kayak once, and had trouble with it. I tried getting help from Boreal, and they ended up telling me to quit bothering them.

I proved it was a problem with their boat, but they refused to accept the thought that something “they designed” could have a problem. You can read my review on the Boreal Nanook if you want more detail.

Sorry I can’t help you on the specific boats you are asking about, but wanted to give you feedback on Boreal in general.

If you buy a used kayak, just nmake sure the dealer will “stand behind it” well. I wouldn’t reccommend my worst enemy to buy anything made by Boreal.

Boreal Fjord