Boreal Kayaks

Anyone have any opinions on Boreals? I’m looking at the Kasko - 13’. Was very comfortable to paddle and turned on a dime. But didn’t track all that great. I’m a beginner/intermediate and wonder if I will learn to adjust my paddling for that shortcoming. I could add a rudder - but everything that I’ve read says that I need to learn to paddle correctly first. The same day I also demo’d a Perception Carolina 13’- tracked great, good glide, much harder to turn.

I’m 5’3, 115# and at this point prefer the smaller day touring kayaks.

can’t comment on that
Model but Boreals are well made kayaks.

Small boat/small paddler paradox
If looking for a smaller boat based on your smaller size - are you assuming it needs to be shorter - or do you have storage limitations or plan to paddle small windy creeks?

Why I ask: Shorter boats are almost invariably wider too. They are only smaller in one dimension - and often are still rather high volume for your size.

As a smaller paddler (and female with a lower center of gravity), you don’t really need the extra width of a short boat. You can (proportionally) handle a much narrower boat more easily than a larger person. Longer and narrower should track better for you as well. Also often not that much weight difference for carrying either.

Truly small narrow boats are hard to find, but many are amazed how good it feels when they try long(er) boats. I’ve seen very small women very happy in some very long kayaks. Have you tested longer boats? 16’? 17’? 18+’?

I’m not familiar with best choices for this - other here are.

Boreals are well made boats

– Last Updated: Jun-03-04 5:51 AM EST –

but have you checked out a P&H vela. A favorite amongst small new england paddlers.

Short boats will turn easily and correct easily, that's how it goes. 13 foot boat will never be a great tracker unless it's getting a lot of V in the hull or has an integral skeg of something else to make it be so, and that will compromise other areas.