bow heavy and bow light

I realize we got a bit off the original topic for practical suggestions for paddling upstream. Admittedly, I enjoyed stirring the pot a bit. The amazon dilemma was something that worked my mind a bit and even my paddle a few times. That being said there is still a lot to think about. I actually find myself agreeing with what steve says about poling and making headway. I have limited experience poling. It mostly resulted from bruised knees in the bottom of an alumicraft canoe 30 years ago but at least the bow was light when I did it. I have very limited experience attaining. Quite frankly, it looks like a lot of work and the few times I tried it I found it exhausting. Both remind me of a salmon jumping up stream. Pushing off hard with the stern or tail, the nose jumping clear of the water to the path of least resistance. Likewise, I regularly see SUP boarders, legs spread apart, on the back of their boards, front edge up, as they paddle upstream. It doesn’t look easy!

But does that jive with my paddling experiences? There’s not a doubt in my mind that its easier to set an upstream ferry angle from the stern of the boat, the part of the boat that is encountering the least resitance from the current. Like wise when setting a downstream ferry angle its much easier from the bow. In both instance the loose end of the boat is the one meeting the least resitance (current). I’m not sure what you mean by leverage being the factor here. In my mind the reason why its difficult is that the current itself prevents the adjustment. We encounter a similiar dilemma rafting. Put a couple of three hundred pounders up front and the problem isn’t going straight. Its getting the boat to turn. Rafts are great example because you eliminate boat lean in the equation and you have extreme currents. Leaning usually equates to flipping. A heavy raft equates to a difficult boat spin and adjust its like paddling a giant slug.