bracing in surf

I’m a surf newbie with a lot of kayaking experience. I’m interested in the conditions in which you would use a high brace versus a low brace in the surf.

Today I was in maybe two to three foot surf. It was fun, no problems. I found my self using almost exclusively my low brace. But I know people who say they use almost exclusively their high brace. I’m thinking it is partly a size of the surf issue. A low brace puts you at wave height, but if it was four feet it would put you at high brace height.

I’m aiming for about six feet and wonder if I should consciously work on my high brace or just wait until the waves get big enough to warrant it. And I wonder if there’s a reason other than surf height that would make you use one over the other. For example, I paddle (but don’t yet surf) at a steep beach where the waves are very dumpy. But I’m practicing on a nice flat beach with spilling waves. Would a high brace be better where I long to go? Or am I just over-thinking this thing and I should just do what works in that moment?

BTW, I surf in a 14’ seakayak and am not really interested in shorter-boat or surf-boat surfing. I generally use a Greenland paddle, but I’ve been doing my surfing with a Euro.

As my tip angle increases

– Last Updated: May-24-09 7:28 PM EST –