Brand new to Kayaking, first boat

Hi, everyone and thanks for reading this and for any help.

I’m new to Kayaking and have been wanting to do it for years, well, I’m tired of NOT doing it, so this summer I decided that I AM doing it. I found a Perception Conduit which is a longer rec boat that is suppose to be better tracking and faster, edges better and can help build skills where to a rec kayak you can’t.

I know I can get a better boat used or save more money, but for 550.00 the Conduit sounds like all I need to get going and then some. Nothing but good reviews so far with the only complaint/s is no cup holder and for some…an uncomfortable seat. Easy fixes IMO, so I’m not worried about that. I haven’t seen any Kayak with seat that looks comfortable anyways.

I’m also 5’ 6" and 180 pounds I have a short torso and longer legs…I’m not a big guy by any means, but not the smallest…I’d say average and I probably am not the strongest paddler either. My main concer is that the Conduit I see in Dicks seems to look heavy and large for me. I haven’t sat in it yet, but it just looks like it would be too big for me… It does have a large cockpit for an assortment of paddlers, because it is a beginner Kayak, but I’m just to afraid I will feel like I’m trying to paddle the Titanic in this thing and afraid my knuckles are going to hit the sides when I paddle.

Eric
This is going to run counter to a lot of opinions you are going to get here.

Buy the boat and go paddling. Figure out the rest later.

It will get you on he water and next year when you know more if you decide you want something different sell it on craigslist for $450

Reviews are mostly written by people like yourself who have owned a boat for 10 days and aren’t worth the time it takes to read them. Everybody loves the boat they just bought.