breast cancer survivor

Hi,

I had a mastectomy just one week ago. i am a VERY active sea kayaker and do some heavy duty paddling in big tides and currents. I am looking for advice about a new paddle, helpful gear, exercises, etc. …any kind of advice to help me get back in my boat. I know I must start slow and easy and not “push the envelope” but am anxious to get back at it asap.

Thanks…

Good on ya’
Tough road - but it sure sounds like you are up to it.

I have no personal experience to offer here, but I thought that it might help others who can if they had a sense of your current equipment. F’r example, if you already are using a Signature Epic paddle it’d be silly to suggest just that you get a lighter paddle.

No advice from me.
But glad to hear you’re clear anyway. My bout w/ cancer was young and over quickly. I had little to complain about compared to most. My wife and I just lost a long friend in her early forties w/ 4 kids to a long fight w/ breast cancer. It’s good to hear from those w/ better outcomes.

YoS

cancer
I too am a cancer survivor and a kayaker. I started back by doing some weight lifting with 10 pound weights and walking 5 times a week. It is slow but before you know it you are back on the water! Also eat whatever the doctors say you should.

GOOD LUCK AND PADDLING!

Can’t Really Advise…
…re the best strategy for getting back to kayaking ASAP, but I can sure tell you it’s been done. We occasionally paddle with a lady - and I use that word in all it’s meanings - who’s a breast cancer survivor, and she’s always one of the first to reply when anyone posts a request for folks interested in a paddle, workshop, clinic, etc. She’s absolutely tireless on the water, and seems to take a deeper and keener enjoyment from it all than most of us do. So good to see her out there…

You will do fine