Breathable Mukluks?

Anyone here using Chota Breathable Quicklace Mukluks?

I have a set of the Lite Mukluks, but am toying with the idea of a lace-up pair with more ankle support. The breathables seem to be a good idea for “shoulder” seasons, and might be comfy even when the temps rise.

Anone using?

Jim

Have 'em, like 'em.

– Last Updated: Dec-09-09 1:10 PM EST –

I've been using them for about four years now. They really are quite nice for cold water and moderate-to-warm temperatures. It takes a really warm day to make them uncomfortably hot inside, but I always have wool socks and a polypro liner sock, which helps a lot. I even use them in the summer on the Wisconsin River so I have "sand-proof" footwear that makes it super easy to go in and out of a tent without dragging in sand (slip 'em off at the door, while low-tops or sandals necessitate lots of foot clean-up time).

The eyelets on the breathable model are made of rubber, and they don't last long like the fabric eyelets on the Chota neoprene models. Mine wore through in less than two years, so I just sewed fabric eyelets right onto the remains of the rubber ones. They've been fine ever since. Also, once the bungie-cord laces break, I just used para-cord tied and laced like with regular shoes.

I have a pair

– Last Updated: Dec-09-09 10:16 PM EST –