Buffalo River Transportation

I have the first 2 weeks of May off and the original plan was to do a trip up in Northern Maine, (Penobscot & Allagash rivers)but was told that when I put my boat in it would go clunk instead of splash. So I figured I’d go south in search of the splash instead of the clunk. Which brings me to the Buffalo River. It’s a 22 hour drive from my house(RI coast).

To long of a drive for me. I drive a truck for a living and I really don’t feel like doing 22 hour drives on my vacation. So I was thinking of flying to Little Rock, and somehow finding tranportation to Buffalo River. Any ideas. Thanks.

More info pls
Canoes will be limited to tandems but kayak rentals available.

I think that you will have to rent a vehicle in Little Rock, choose a shuttle operator and put in and then go back to the airport via rental vehicle.

For one thats an expense particularly when sitting in a parking lot.

I would choose the drive!

I am fond of thse operators…used them several times. They are in Ponca but on multi day trips can do a shuttle to wherever you want…even Buffalo City.

http://www.buffaloriver.com/

The river has many access points and runs over 100 miles east to west

Did you check out

http://www.nps.gov/buff/planyourvisit/upload/FinalCurrents2007RedSize.pdf

Buffalo transportation
The Buffalo is a great river for paddling, fishing, and camping. The put ins can be accessed easily except for the lower stretch. Outfitters can transport you for a fee. The river is busy on weekends. When I paddled in late July last year during the week, I only saw one other canoe.

Craig in windy Kansas

We are driving
Went for a long walk with my wife/canoepartner and decided to drive down after totaling all the figures. We were looking at about 1600.00 minus food. Your links were very helpful and the iceing on the cake for my wife’s change of heart was the cabins at BOC. I told we could stay 2 or 3 nights after we got off the river.