Building SOF - first time

I’m looking for a little advice before I start a new project. I’d like to build a rolling sof, and have some questions. Is there enough info in a book to cover the whole process (Morris or Cummingham)? Can I expect to get the materials easily locally? Approximately how much money can I expect to spend? I have some woodworking experience, including carving GPs and building a S&G kit (Tern). I would appreciate any input from those of you who may be able to help me decide if this is something I can handle.

Try a different board
http://www.qajaqusa.org

It’s a pretty simple process
There are a couple here that have built, but qajaqusa.com is a much better source. Seems like someone is launching a new SOF there nearly every day.

Couple general answers though. I used Morris’ book and found it complete enough to do the job. Only downside is using his anthropomorphic measurements my boat wound up being 24" wide when I was shooting for 20-ish. Woodwork skills are not required, but make the job easier. Cost can range from nearly free if you have access to scraps and cheap duck canvas, to a couple hundred bucks if you are forced to buy wood from a home improvement store and use ballistic nylon to skin.

Good luck and post back with pics when you’re done.

Randy

References…

– Last Updated: Feb-10-07 7:39 AM EST –