Bulkhead install with hull reinforcement & uncut hatch

Hi there, a lake/river newbie here. Have just bought a cheap poly Perception Spectrum to get started with, which has a couple of curious features that I can’t find any reference to in web searches so coming to the forums!

The first is a factory-sealed hatch in the stern section, ie. there’s everything for a hatch, just need to actually cut out the top and install a cover. There’s no bulkheads, only a couple of small bits of foam at each end, so I’ll probably need to install a rear one at least to create a bit of extra flotation as I wouldn’t trust heavily loaded drybags and the old styrofoam to keep it afloat.

Which brings me to the second feature - an oval frame behind the seat that appears to reinforce the shape, plus a tube that runs along the bottom of the hull from end to end of the 'yak, on the inside. This will clearly complicate installing a bulkhead but is probably manageable.

Any advice on dealing with these two features around a) when “adding” a hatch is it fine to simply cut into the hatch template and add a retail hatch over? and b) any tips on installing a bulkhead around the tube/brace?

Also, are these common features? I haven’t been able to find ANYTHING on the net about them, but perhaps I’m using the wrong search terms of tube, rod, bracing, strut, reinforced hulls, etc. etc.?

TIA for any help

I had a Spectrum kayak as you described. It had the two plastic ribs that served to stiffen the hull (one behind the cockpit and one in front), and the aluminum tube (the keelson) running along the length of the hull. You can remove seat, ribs and keelson if you want while working on the kayak, but they do need to be there for the structural integrity.