Buy nicer kayaks now or upgrade later?

Hello!

I’m fairly new to the kayak scene but am really enjoying it. Want to get the whole family (3 people total) into it. I have an opportunity to get two Eddyline kayaks - one Whisper CL tandem demo and a Merlin LT (2007). Will need all the gear to go with it too - PFD’s, paddles, rack, etc. I can get all of this stuff for well under $4K. Both kayaks are in great shape and the accessories are new.

Just wondering people’s thoughts on whether they bought cheaper first and upgraded later, or just went in “full boat” (sorry bad pun) and got kayaks that will probably be the only ones they will ever need. I was an avid cyclist and learned that upgrading was always more expensive than spending more money up front.

What did you do? Thanks!

I started with an Aquaterra Keowee
and you dont get much more basic rec kayak than that.

Now I have seventeen kayaks and canoes each with a role in my life. I never lost much money on each “trade up”.

I suspect its a rare person that buys ONE boat and stick with it for life these days though our grandparents undoubtedly did.

I cycle too
I cycle too and “upgrading” is inevitable.

When one starts a new activity his/her skills improve and therefore the need for better equipment.

Like with bikes, kayaks come in so many different shapes/styles.

Unless you are really sure and positive on what you want, chances are the kayak you get now won’t be your last…

More thoughts on the subject at: http://gnarlydognews.blogspot.com/2010/03/buying-your-first-kayak.html

if the other two
family members are as gung ho as you are, you may as well skip the cheapie first boat stage.

Some people don’t start w. a rec boat or stay w. them long. This is not to diss rec boats but to say that people want different things out of the sport.