buying a canoe

Hello all,

looking for some advice on a new canoe purchase. I am just getting into the sport and i am loving it!!! I purchased a used discovery 158 a couple of seasons ago and took it to MO to explore the current and jacks fork rivers awesome time!!. And now to my dilemna, I realy enjoy overnight trips and my 158 discovery was carrying me+girlfriend+100lb.malamute+50lb.labrador+overnight gear and oh yeah fishing gear. I take some solo trips with the malamute and was told to paddle the canoe backwards, which sucked with those plastic seats. So I guess i’m looking for the best of both worlds. Is there a canoe that can handle heavy loads for with girlfriend trips, and also accomadate solo+dog trips on moving water? oh yeah of course I’m a underpaid snowcat operator so i can’t afford anything to crazy. any advice would be appreciated thanx for your time!!

Lots of boats out thaar
But one dat comes ta mind be a 16’ Old Town Penobscot? Good solo an’ tandem. Rip out dem plastic seats an’ put in some wood seats so yer kin paddle from de front seat facin’ back or larn Canadian style.

I’m with F.E.

– Last Updated: Mar-04-08 11:51 AM EST –

My Penobscot 17 has been like the Grand Caravan of canoes. Carries a ton with confidence. Too much to solo, though. Oh yeah, moderate price makes it even more attractive.

A larger Disco, or an OT Tripper could
do what you want. You have to realize that a 17’ Tripper is a lot of boat to manage solo. Problems with headwind and sidewind occur. But I recall some very good, small whitewater paddlers in the SE who used Trippers all the time, and on water up to the Nolichucky level.

The Penobscots are faster, but the Tripper has a better center pivot area. I used to own one and paddled it solo until its 80+ pound weight became an impediment to my surviving into retirement.

I’m with Elmo
Replace the plastic seats with wood frame cane or web seats.

Solo tripper & wood seats